Friday, 7 July 2017

Read With Pride - Guest Post by Simon James Green



June, if you didn't know, was the month of pride and the wonderful team at Scholastic decided to create their own #ReadWithPride campaign to celebrate pride in books. 🌈

For this celebration, today on my blog I have a brilliant and insightful guest post by Simon James Green, author of the hilarious Noah Can't Even.



Poor Noah Grimes! His father disappeared years ago, his mother's Beyonce tribute act is an unacceptable embarrassment, and his beloved gran is no longer herself. He only has one friend, Harry, and school is...Well, it's pure HELL. Why can't Noah be normal, like everyone else at school? Maybe if he struck up a romantic relationship with someone - maybe Sophie, who is perfect and lovely - he'd be seen in a different light? But Noah's plans are derailed when Harry kisses him at a party. That's when things go from bad to utter chaos.

Tuesday, 4 July 2017

If Birds Fly Back - Review



Book Review:
Title: If Birds Fly Back
Author: Carlie Sorosiak
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Book
Release Date: 29th June 2017 (UK)
I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

"Just because it’s the end of one thing, doesn’t mean it can’t be the beginning of another."

Linny has been living life in black and white since her sister Grace ran away, and she's scared that Grace might never come back. When Linny witnesses the return to Miami of a cult movie star long presumed dead, she is certain it's a sign. Surely Álvaro Herrera, of all people, can tell her why people come back - and how to bring her sister home?
Sebastian has come to Miami seeking his father, a man whose name he's only just learned. An aspiring astrophysicist, he can tell Linny how many galaxies there are, how much plutonium weighs and how likely she is to be struck by a meteorite. But none of the theories he knows are enough to answer his own questions about why his father abandoned him, and why it left him in pieces.
As Sebastian and Linny converge around the mystery of Álvaro's disappearance - and return - their planets start to collide. Linny's life is about to become technicolour, but finding the answers to her questions might mean losing everything that matters.

Saturday, 3 June 2017

When Dimple Met Rishi - Blog Tour (Extract)


Blog Tour:
Title: When Dimple Met Rishi
Author: Sandhya Menon
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Release Date: 1st June 2017 (UK)

“Hello, future wife,” he said, his voice bubbling with glee. “I can't wait to get started on the rest of our lives!”

(That quote though...I died of laughter! 👆)
Welcome to the 3rd day of the When Dimple Met Rishi Blog Tour!


The arranged marriage YA romcom you didn't know you wanted or needed...
Meet Dimple.

Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.
Meet Rishi.
He's rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she's got other plans...
Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.
Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI is a frothy, funny contemporary romance set at a coding convention in San Francisco over one exciting summer. Told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists, Dimple is fighting her family traditions while Rishi couldn't be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?